Employers in the New York tri-State region having employees in various locations should be aware of the following changes in the minimum wage law in these New York region States, effective as of January 1, 2014. No changes were made in the Massachusetts minimum wage laws. These increases will also affect overtime pay:
Connecticut: Minimum Wage increases to $8.70 an hour, up from $8.25 an hour. For tipped bartenders, the minimum wage remains at $7.34 an hour, and for hotal and restaraurant tipped employees other than bartenders, the minimum wage will remain at $5.69 an hour.
New Jersey: General minimum wage will increase to $8.25 an hour, up from $7.25 an hour. The minimum wage for tipped employees remains at $2.13 an hour.
New York: Effective December 31, 2013, the general minimum wage will be $8.00 an hour, up from $7.25 an hour. Minimum wage for tipped employees is $5.00 an hour for food service workers—including servers, runners, and bussers—and $5.65 an hour for service employees (delivery persons and coat checkers).
For employers also having employees in the following States, please note that there have been changes in the minimum wage laws, and information can be obtained by contacting us at firstname.lastname@example.org: Arizona, California (including municipalities such as San Francisco), Colorado, Florida, Missouri, Montana, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Washington.